Thanksgiving in China:济南

Standard

So instead of Taobao post let’s talk about Thanksgiving in China.

Thanksgiving is my second favorite holiday! Christmas being the first, Thanksgiving being the second and Halloween the third.

 

Since I’m living in Jinan, a turkey dinner is much harder to find. So without stuffing, cranberry sauce, and your favorite aunt’s macaroni and cheese, how did I celebrate Thanksgiving?!

Funny story, maybe.

So, the school tells us a week before in a meeting that they are going to prepare some food for us on Thanksgiving Day since we have to work.

“Hey, guys we are going to have some food for you at 12:30 pm on Thanksgiving. We are going to prepare pizza, chicken nuggets, bread, this type of things.” – Foreign Teacher Supervisor (who is Chinese)

I can accept the thought that counts, but us foreign teachers were like what?! pizza?! I suggested they just get the Beijing Duck and some Chinese vegetables since it’s the closest to what may be a Thanksgiving Dinner in America.

Did they listen?

Nope! They never listen. They ask for suggestions, but never listen. It’s the thought that counts right?

So, on Thanksgiving day,  a couple of us teachers arrived maybe 5 minutes past 12:30 thinking that things will be all nice and set up. Yeah we were delusional.

We walked into total madness, chaos, plastic gloves and smacking! They didn’t even wait for us! So much for “it’s the thought that counts.”

image

Thanksgiving Chaos only in China 🙂

I literally only ate a couple of oranges and two dumplings because everything was just everywhere.

After being let down, after work us teachers went to this restaurant called Fancy for a Thanksgiving Dinner It was okay. They tried their best to give us a meal as close to Thanksgiving as possible. However I was really missing “everybody aunt’s macaroni and cheese”. I also was craving stuffing, dirty rice and dinner rolls. I didn’t get any of that but it’s whatever.

image

Our Turkey Dinner at Fancy

All I know is I cannot miss another Thanksgiving. If I do, I’m either eating duck or hotpot.

Look forward to my posts about Christmas parties in class, our school’s Not-So-Christmas Shindig featuring a CLOWN and New Year’s in China.

I’ll probably post all this after New Year’s. All the holidays have sucked up my time. Anyway the blog is still alive, just slow.

3 thoughts on “Thanksgiving in China:济南

  1. I understand the feeling all too well! When we were there we did a potluck style event at our place (only earlier because we’re Canadian and celebrate Thanksgiving in October). We ended up with some interesting food combinations, but the spirit was just right, and we got to show our Chinese friends some of our traditions. Dates had to be flexible based on work schedules, but it was nice to get a real Thanksgiving in regardless.

    Liked by 1 person

    • TooChineseForU

      I wanted to cook some food and hold Thanksgiving at my place, but i was too lazy to read about where to find all the food. It was also to expensive to get everything.

      Liked by 1 person

      • That’s why we did a potluck style meal. We just picked up a couple roast ducks, and made mashed potatoes, and then kept our fingers crossed that the other dishes would work out 😀

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

